JYP beat Färjestad BK in Red Bulls Salute 2013 final – New Champions Hockey League to be formed

© 2015, Muenzenberg Medien, photo: Stefan Pribnow

Berlin, Germany (Weltexpress). European Trophy Finals 2013 in Berlin proved to be a less than exciting ice hockey event – as far as marketing is concerned.

Minimal attendance figures did not discourage the die hard fans who enjoyed great hocky over a four day invitational tournament.

With four teams from Sweden, one from Finland and capital German club – Eisbären Berlin, the European Trophy Finals showcased its final Red Bulls Salute format.

A newly formed Champions Hockey League will replace Red Bulls Salute beginning next season. A stronger competitive field will stretch across Europe.

The Champions Hockey League will feature ten groups of four teams and the group draw will be held in May 2014 during the IIHF World Championship in Minsk.

Over the years, Red Bulls Salute provided great ice hockey competition and the legacy will carry on.

The lone Finnish participant, JYP beat Färjestad BK (Sweden) in a hard fought championship contest, 2 -1.

Despite poor attendance, the 2000 plus fans in the O2 World final throughly enjoyed an exciting match.

Other teams who participated in the tournament: Frölunda Indians, Lulea Hockey and Djurgardens demonstrated how exciting European ice hockey is played.

The future Champions Hockey League sent a clear message to fans across Europe – interest will require wider involvement including teams from Switzerland, Czech Republic and Austria.

For champions JYP, it was the first time they participated in the Red Bulls Salute invitational tournament.

Previous articlePALAZZO – Europe’s most successful Gourmet Theatre in Berlin – High-Class entertainment with exquisite palatal joys
Next articleMy Smart, my car rental company – Mirento offers both in Berlin


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

six + one =